Indian States and the Bordering Countries Team    GK    Total Views: 1283    Posted: Dec 24, 2019   Updated: Nov 28, 2023

Indian States and the Bordering Countries

India is of vast size and measures about 3,214 kilometers from north to south and about 2,933 kilometers from west to east. the total length of Coastline is 7,516.6 kilometers that includes the mainland, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar Island.

India shares its border with seven countries- Afghanistan (Pak occupied area) and Pakistanto the north-westChina, Bhutan and Nepal to the northMyanmar and Bangladesh to the East.

Sri Lanka (from south-east)and Maldives (from south-west) are two countries with water borders.’

Let us check out the list of Indian States and the Bordering Countries



Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan and Gujarat


Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh,Uttarakhand, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh


Bihar, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim and West Bengal


West Bengal,Mizoram,Meghalaya,Tripura and Asom


West Bengal, Sikkim,Arunachal Pradesh and Asom


Arunachal Pradesh,Nagaland,Manipur and Mizoram


Jammu and Kashmir (Pakistan Occupied Area)


Quick facts about bordering countries of India

  1. India and Bangladesh share fifth longest land border in the world. The length of the border is 4,096 kms.
  2. Country with longest border line with India – Bangladesh
  3. Country with smallest border line with India – Afghanistan (Only officially )
  4. Indian State with longest International Border line – Rajasthan
  5. Indian State with smallest International border line – Sikkim
  6. Indian State with maximum number of International Borders – Arunachal Pradesh
  7. Indian state with longest coastal line – Gujarat
  8. Country with longest border line with India – Bangladesh

Download PDF of Indian States and the Bordering Countries

Give your comments: